life lessons

Coffee Thoughts

image
Pretty sure this is the face an addict makes.

Last year I discovered Toasted Coconut coffee in the Aldi’s seasonal section and it quickly became “My Precious.” I ran out in a few months and simply bided my time until this winter came around when I knew My Precious would be back on the shelves. Only it wasn’t. I looked all over and just couldn’t find it anywhere and, quite honestly, I was pretty devastated. I told anyone who would listen to look for it, but I was sure no one really cared about My Precious but me.

So when I opened my Christmas present from my father to find an entire box full of the stuff, my joy was REAL. And when my father told me he had even grabbed the last bag right under my nose when we both showed up at the same Aldi at the same time just before Christmas and how he had to keep moving his cart ahead of me so that I wouldn’t see what he had done, I had such a good laugh and felt even more joy. These are my favorite kinds of gifts; the ones with good stories about how far someone would go for the other (and it has nothing at all to do with price as Aldi’s coffee is about $3.49 a bag).

So now I have My Precious in my hands once again, but here’s the thing about this coffee – it’s best with a sweetened creamer. Regular coffee I will drink black, but this coffee needs a little extra something to take full advantage of that coconut taste otherwise it almost feels as if I’ve wasted the flavor. I have just a little bit of caramel flavored creamer left and I’ve used it all in my very first cup of coffee this morning. It’s freaking delicious. I’m almost sad that my next cup will be black. I mean, I will still love it…but it just won’t be the same.

It makes me think that this is what it’s like when you find someone special. You love your life, but they make it just a bit sweeter. You could savor your life without them, but it’s almost a disappointment. And, somehow, you can even drink your coffee black and it tastes exactly as good as your preferred sweetened version just because they are around. Even the search for them is completely fruitless before you’ve met them, because before you met them you really didn’t know exactly what it was that you wanted. But once you know, nothing else will do. They are your all-time favorite for always.

I told you this coffee was good.

(:

Leave a Reply

