Posted in 30 Days

30 Days of Water

Yesterday my youngest brother issued a challenge to me and my other siblings – drink at least 64oz of water every day and stop drinking soda.

I’ve given up soda several times in my life.  Like that time I couldn’t use my arms, and that time my mouth fell off.  Ok, ok… all joking aside I really have given it up many times over the years, sometimes on purpose and sometimes it just happened, but what never happened afterwards was that giant weight loss everyone promises.

Well, this article my brother is throwing around says dehydration makes you fat.  I’m pretty sure that being fat makes you fat, but I guess we are going to find out.

Why is this even blog-worthy?  For one, I hate water.  Hate it.  Unless I’m swimming in it or bathing in it, I just don’t like it.  I think all my years of taking different medications has ruined water for me.  Hey, water, remember that month you tasted like aluminum?  What about that entire summer I could smell the stench of your flouride?  I’ll admit it’s not really water’s fault, but I still don’t like that bitch and I’d like to know if that can change.

Reason number two is that about a month ago I was admitted to the ER because the flu tried to kill me. You know what my number one problem was? Being dehydrated.  They got that iv going, gave me a fever reducer, and I was happy as hell in about an hour or so… nevermind the crazy feverish dreams.  Once home I started to get a bad headache again and drenched my insides with water.  Headache gone. Hmmm…..

And lastly, everyone says drinking water helps you lose weight.  Well, I’m fluffy enough to find out.

So here begins my 30 Days of Water.  I will update this post every day. Enjoy.

**Feb 24th:  I hate you.  I hate water.  I hate drinking water.  I don’t care about giving up soda.  But I hate you.

I was very excited to grab my water bottle and see how little water 64oz really is.  “This isn’t so bad,” I thought… until I did the math.

Wait… I have to drink two of these?

FML.

At the end of the day, I can say I really wanted that last ten ounces.  Bad. Weird.

**Feb 26th:  My friend just posted a picture of a piece of fruit and a bottle of water and told everyone that it jumpstarts her day.

FML.

Yeah, no, she has lost like a lot of weight.  She knows.  Fuck fuck fuck fuck.

Hello, Fiji bottle.

**Feb 27 This is actually getting easy…

**Feb 28 My water bottle is my new best friend and I can tell when I haven’t head enough. Yes, I’m actually craving water. This is so weird.

**Mar 3 I’ve been averaging 2 to 3 liters a day. I drink half as much coffee as I used to, and this I’d really weirding me out.

**Mar 4 – 6 I have a double ear infection and am taking antibiotics. Water tastes like hell and I’ve been choking it down… But definitely not meeting my goals. Ugh. I hate water again. And everything.

**Mar 8 Back on track! I need my water to wake up in the morning!! Holy crap, I am thirsty all the time and have to carry a bottle of water with me everywhere I go.

**Mar 10 I have to admit that I’ve been struggling with swelling in my hands since this whole water thing began, but my Fibro makes me swell all the time so who knows. I’m getting discouraged because I’m currently at my highest weight ever, yet I don’t miss soda one bit. I guess this is still a win?

**Mar 13 HOLY SHIT I JUST LOST 10 POUNDS.

Holy shit I have to admit I was wrong… O_o

**March 15 I’m down 5 more pounds. I can’t even believe it! And all this water and weightloss had invalid me to change my diet a bit. I have a shit ton of fresh veggies and fruits to eat my way through…

**Mar 17 I’m down another 5 pounds, and I’m starting to think someone is messing with my scale. I made my soon get on it to be sure it was working – it is.

I lost 20 pounds?? Holyshitballs!

I can feel my gut changing and getting smaller, but I can’t only credit water this time. I’ve been eating fruits, veggies, and lean meats like crazy.

Omg, I *really* have to admit I was wrong…

Author:

Singer/songwriter and blogger/writer from Milwaukee, WI. Advocate for Fibromyalgia/Chronic Pain/Invisible Illness Awareness and Pure Ridiculousness. Possibly poops glitter. Definitely snorts when laughing. Has kept a child alive for 9 years and a house plant alive for 9 days. #chronicallyawesome

Leave a Reply

