Fibromyalgia · pain awareness art

Pain & Shame

I will be honest – I haven’t been doing well. I mean I’ve been in many good moods and have accomplished somethings, but physically I am down. Washed up. Broken. While I miss my blog and cting with all of you, I just don’t seem to have the ergy or inspiration any longer –  but I wanted it back.

So, baby steps.

Today I feel shameful for being in pain. Maybe it is because of the attitude from my doctors. Maybe it is because do to cancel my weekend plans due to pain and I was really looking forward to going. Maybe it is because I’m alone. And maybe it is because physical therapy seems to be making me worse instead of better. I don’t know. But I do know I feel shameful, and this is what it looks like:

image

Do you ever feel shameful about your pain?

5 thoughts on “Pain & Shame

  1. Thank you (as usual) for sharing your thoughts and your art. I’ve also been struggling, and I just wrote about taking one step at a time, too. Sounds like you can relate. I feel this way sometimes–ashamed of my pain–especially at times when I feel like it’s the thing getting in the way of living, like you described having to cancel plans for it. I hate those times . . . it’s difficult to see the good in it sometimes.

  2. C’mere. Sit down and listen to me. If you do something shameful, THEN you should feel pain. YOU have done nothing but bravely feel pain and deal with it the best way you can. Shame? Are you crazy? You are BRAVE, FUNNY, COOL, INSPIRING and someone I feel privileged to have connected with.

    Feel proud. Look in the mirror, my friend and feel the awe you should be feeling when you look at the strong, brave, inspiring woman who stares back.

    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

